Ernie Els has always exuded an old-school vibe in his long career in professional golf, and that was on full display Thursday when he ruined his own great round by calling a two-shot penalty on himself.
Playing in the first round of the European tour’s BMW PGA Championship at Wentworth, Els hit his second shot on the par-5 12th hole into deep rough on the edge of a greenside bunker. Thinking the ball might be plugged, the Tour veteran alerted his playing partners, marked the lie, then picked up his ball to check. After replacing the ball, seemingly in accordance with the rules, Els chipped in for eagle. …
READ MORE ON GOLF.COM